Mac Morrin from Kingston Recipient of the 2023 Nathan R. Cowan Memorial Award

Jan 3, 2024

Created in 2002, the Nathan R. Cowan Memorial Award aims to support developing sailors through financial support, a way to honour the memory of Nathan Cowan who, after years of determination and persistence, achieved his goal of becoming a Canadian Sailing Team member. However, a few months later, Nathan Cowan passed away tragically in a car accident.

Mac Morrin started sailing in the summer of 2004. After competing with the Queen’s University team and trying the 29er and 49er classes, he put his competitive sailing on hold after he was admitted to a fast-track nursing program in 2016. But thirsty to keep active on the water, he decided to try kiteboarding. A few years later, he became a Sail Canada Development Squad member. In 2022, he represented Canada at the Kiteboarding World Championships and, this year, took part in the Santiago 2023 Pan American Games as well as the Sailing World Championships. His goal is to qualify Canada for the Paris 2024 Olympic Games, where he aims to earn a spot in the top 10 with a chance at the podium.

“I am very honoured to receive the Nathan R. Cowan Memorial award this year,” said Mac Morrin. “As a former Queen’s Sailing Team president, I remember the impact and legacy that Nathan had on the team. I really appreciate the support and I will keep pushing towards my goal to qualify for Paris 2024!”

About the Nathan R. Cowan Memorial Award
The Nathan R. Cowan Memorial Award is given out annually to a Canadian sailor who is 19 years of age or older as of December 31 in the year of the nomination and who is not a member of the Canadian Sailing Team or a carded athlete during the year of the award. The winner will have shown a record of outstanding achievement in national and international competitions, have followed a committed training program during the year of the award, brought recognition to Canadian competitive sailing, have demonstrated leadership and sportsmanship, and have made efforts in fundraising through sponsorship and private contributions.

Since 2002, the Nathan R. Cowan Memorial Award has annually supported one athlete or one team, including Olympians David Wright, Stéphane Locas and Oliver Bone, Lee Parkhill, Tom Ramshaw, Jacob and Graeme Saunders, Will Jones and Evan DePaul, as well as current Sail Canada Development Squad members James Juhasz, Fillah Karim and Clara Gravely.

More information on the Nathan R. Cowan Memorial Award is available at https://www.sailing.ca/nathan-r-cowan-memorial-award-for-developing-sailors-past-winners/.

Cliquez ici pour le français

Related Articles