Antonia and Georgia Lewin-LaFrance Named Rolex Sailors of the Year

SinC Antonia and Georgia Rolex Sailors of the Year

November 2, 2022

From left to right: Georgia Lewin-LaFrance, Maxim Lamarre, ROLEX Canada CEO, Antonia Lewin-LaFrance

Last week Antonia and Georgia Lewin-LaFrance from Chester, NS were named Sail Canada’s Rolex Sailors of the Year for 2021-2022 during Canada’s Celebration of Sailing event held by Sail Canada and the Royal Nova Scotia Yacht Squadron.

Antonia and Georgia Lewin-LaFrance, representing the Chester Yacht Club and the Royal Nova Scotia Yacht Squadron, won the Rolex Award for the very first time. This award has been given out annually since 1986 to individual(s) who have provided global recognition to Canadian sailing and Sail Canada, and who are renowned leaders that have attained high levels of excellence with significant results and accomplishments in world events or activities. Along with recognition for exemplary sportsmanship, they have held the respect of their fellow sailors.

During the time period ranging from August 7, 2021, to September 14, 2022, Antonia and Georgia won the bronze medal at the 2021 49erFX European Championships held in Greece, then took the 6th spot at the 2021 49erFX Sailing World Championships held in Oman, posting the best Canadian performance ever at this competition that has been held since 2013. They also took the third spot at the 2022 Kiel Week event, while taking part in multiple races with the Canada SailGP Team.

“Thank you to Sail Canada for all the support and this prestigious recognition,” said Antonia and Georgia Lewin-LaFrance. “To our sponsors, supporters, family, friends and coaching team: thank you for getting us here.”

Amongst previous winners of Sail Canada’s Rolex Sailor of the Year award, Canada’s Olympic and Paralympic medalists Evert Bastet (2007), Terry McLaughlin (2001 and 2013), John McRoberts and Jackie Gay (2016), as well as Paul Tingley (2008) are all on that prestigious list, as is Ross MacDonald, who won it three times (1990, 1992 with Eric Jespersen and 2004 with Mike Wolfs).

More information is available on Sail Canada website at:


Cliquez ici pour le français

Related Articles

  • The Big Picture: Foiling Hard

    The Big Picture: Foiling Hard

    Nov 29, 2023 Canada SailGP Team helmed by Phil Robertson lead Emirates Great Britain SailGP Team helmed by Ben Ainslie on Race Day 1 of the Spain Sail Grand Prix in Cadiz, Spain. October 14th, 2023. Photo: Felix Diemer for SailGP. Image supplied by SailGP. Canada has been mixing it up on the course lately… Read More…

  • Sail Nova Scotia Evening of Excellence and Fundraising

    Sail Nova Scotia Evening of Excellence and Fundraising

    Nov 29, 2023 Bill Haliburton was the high bidder of the first four Premium tickets for the ROCKWOOL Canada Sail Grand Prix Halifax. He is flanked by Canada SailGP Team sailors Jareese Finch (L) and Billy Gooderham (R) – both now call Halifax home. The Nova Scotia sailing and boating community from across the province gathered Friday evening (November… Read More…