Rolex Sailor of the Year Award Nominations are Open

SinC Rolex Awards Nominations

August 17, 2022


Sail Canada is currently accepting nominations for the Rolex Sailor of the Year Award through to September 14th, 2022. Nominees are individuals who:

  1. Have been significantly involved in an activity that, through the year, has provided recognition to Canadian sailing and Sail Canada. Results and accomplishments in world settings are considered in recipient selection, with priorities given to leaders who have attained high levels of excellence in Olympic/Paralympic class sailboat competition.
  2. Have shown leadership qualities with respect to an event or activity.
  3. Demonstrate sportsmanship and the gaining of respect from fellow sailors.
  4. Are Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada.

Nomination Form

The award was first presented in 1986 to America’s Cup supporter Paul Phelan, who successfully organized a merger between Canada’s top 12-meter syndicates. To date, the Rolex Sailor of the Year has been awarded to many more outstanding Canadian sailors.

Previous Winners

2020-2021 – Sarah Douglas
2019 – Sarah Douglas
2018 – Tom Ramshaw
2017 – Brenda Bowskill
2016 – John McRoberts & Jackie Gay
2015 – Lee Parkhill
2014 – Eric Holden
2013 – Terry McLaughlin
2012 – Oskar Johansson
2011 – Paul D Phelan
2010 – Fredrik D Eaton
2009 – Curtis Florence

2008 – Paul Tingley
2007 – Evert Bastet
2006 – Michael Leigh
2005 – Chris Cook
2004 – Ross MacDonald and Mike Wolfs
2003 – Derek Hatfield
2002 – Stephen Tupper
2001 – Terry McLaughlin
2000 – Livius Sherwood
1999 – Richard Clarke
1998 – Dirk Kneulman

1997 – Gerry Roufs
1996 – Bill Abbott, Joanne Abbott and Brad Boston
1995 – Ross Cameron
1994 – Paul Henderson
1993 – Karen Johnson, Jennifer Normand, Suzanne Calladine and Cathy McPherson
1992 – Ross Macdonald and Eric Jespersen
1991 – Hank Lammens
1990 – Ross Macdonald
1989 – Andre Julien
1988 – Lawrence Lemieux
1987 – John Hughes
1986 – Paul J. Phelan, CM


Cliquez ici pour le français

Related Articles

  • The Big Picture: Foiling Hard

    The Big Picture: Foiling Hard

    Nov 29, 2023 Canada SailGP Team helmed by Phil Robertson lead Emirates Great Britain SailGP Team helmed by Ben Ainslie on Race Day 1 of the Spain Sail Grand Prix in Cadiz, Spain. October 14th, 2023. Photo: Felix Diemer for SailGP. Image supplied by SailGP. Canada has been mixing it up on the course lately… Read More…

  • Sail Nova Scotia Evening of Excellence and Fundraising

    Sail Nova Scotia Evening of Excellence and Fundraising

    Nov 29, 2023 Bill Haliburton was the high bidder of the first four Premium tickets for the ROCKWOOL Canada Sail Grand Prix Halifax. He is flanked by Canada SailGP Team sailors Jareese Finch (L) and Billy Gooderham (R) – both now call Halifax home. The Nova Scotia sailing and boating community from across the province gathered Friday evening (November… Read More…