2011 Muskoka Lakes Association (MLA) Sailing Regatta


The 2011 MLA Sailing Regatta was hosted by Beaumaris Yacht Club (BYC) on Lake Muskoka on Sunday July 31st, where over 60 sailors participated in the day, racing in 36 sailboats.

A strong audience of race coaches, instructors, parents and other observers watched the racing action. Race day began with a noon Skippers meeting, followed by 3 races for 7 classes of sailboats. New this year was the Laser Pico class, a relatively new youth boat for kids ages 10-13 who have mastered the Pram or Opti and are getting ready for the transition to the Club 420. The regatta enjoyed steady 10-15 km/h winds from the West. The awards and trophy ceremony followed the on water activity with MLA gold, silver and bronze medals in addition to posterjack.ca sailing posters presented for each class of boats. A number of family members competed together.

The regatta was organized and managed by MLA Muskoka Sailing Network Chairman, Michael Hart. A large team of volunteers participated in running the event, including:
Murray Sarafinchin, Principal Race Officer
Parker Dunbar and John Kryan, BYC instructors in the Mark Boat
Kelly Hart, score keeper and photographer
Liam Roberts and Ellen Nightingale doing flags and timing on the Race Committee boat
Marilyn Vogel, from the MLA Office managed registration, medals and trophies

The MLA Marine Team provided safety assistance on the race course and Race Committee support.

Other thanks go to:
– Grant Hood for use of his Race Committee boat
– Posterjack.ca, Robertson & Robertson Yacht Insurance (Skippers Plan) and Ontario Sailing for sponsorship
– Muskoka Lakes Association for the medals and sound system.

Also, our thanks to Beaumaris Yacht Club and their Director, Jeffrey Hand for use of their facilities, staff and site.

Regatta results were as follows:

Open Multihull/Catamaran
1 – Mike Phillips & Christa Beverley, South Muskoka Sailing Club (SMSC)

GC21 Keelboat
1 – Andy Cumming, Devin Watson & Max Triskan, SMSC
2 – Jeff, Adam & Don Moody, SMSC
3 – George, Tim & Kevin Faught, SMSC

1 – Adam & Kimberly Nicholson, Bala SC
2 – Peter & Terry Duncan, Muskoka Lakes Sailing Club (MLSC)

1 – Rob Clarke, Kettles Sailing Club (KSC)
2 – Kirk Cavell, MLSC
3 – Steve Phillips, SMSC

1 – Morgan Simmonds & Greer Sallick, MLSC
2 – Parker Phillips & Alex Loe, SMSC
3 – Sarah Hannay & Kirsty Lind, SMSC

Laser II
1 – Hugh Digby & Will Clemson, BYC

1 – Chloe Triskan & Annie Burt, SMSC
2 – Blake Latimer & Nigel Watkins, BYC
3 – Keaton Phillips & Mathew Fraser, SMSC

Opti Class
1 – Julia Watson, SMSC
2 – Rory Wilmer, SMSC
3 – Graydon Staples, SMSC

The prestigious Commodore’s Cup is awarded to the club with the most first, second and third place finishes and this years’ recipient was again the South Muskoka Sailing Club.

Related Articles

  • Sail NS Shares Community-Wide: Welcome to ROCKWOOL Canada SailGP

    Sail NS Shares Community-Wide: Welcome to ROCKWOOL Canada SailGP

    May 15, 2024 With a racecourse that is visible from both sides of the harbour, Halifax offers one of the best race stadiums on the SailGP circuit. “Spectators will be able to watch the fleet of ten hydro foiling catamarans from vantage points along the Dartmouth and Halifax waterfronts, as well as from the water,”… Read More…

  • Armdale YC Welcomes Atlantea Expedition

    Armdale YC Welcomes Atlantea Expedition

    May 15, 2024 By Nicola MacNevin There’s still a chill in the Nova Scotia spring air, even on the sunniest of days, and the ocean hasn’t yet shed its winter slate grey. Venturing from Bermuda to Halifax at this time of year is daunting. For the crew of Carlina the challenge of an ocean passage… Read More…