Sarah Douglas named Rolex Sailor of the Year for second time

Sarah Douglas named Rolex Sailor of the Year for the second time

September 9, 2021

Photo John Morris

Repeating last year’s honour, last Friday Sarah Douglas was named Sail Canada’s Rolex Sailor of the Year for 2020-2021.

Following her 6th-place finish at Tokyo 2020, Sarah Douglas received the award for the second time in a row at Canada’s Celebration of Sailing held by Sail Canada and the Royal Canadian Yacht Club today in Toronto attended by a lawn full of sailors including members of the Tokyo 2020 Canadian Olympic Sailing Team and past Olympians.

Douglas achieved Canada’s best individual performance in women’s sailing in Olympic history in Tokyo by finishing in 6th position overall in Laser Radial. She also became the first Canadian to take part in the Medal Race of the Laser Radial class since this event was introduced to the Olympic Games program in 2008 in Beijing. The previous best Canadian result in Laser Radial was 16th position in Rio in 2016. In 2020, she also took 6th spot at the Laser Radial European Championships.

Sarah and Family
Sarah Douglas shares her second Rolex Award with her family last Friday on the lawn at RCYC  photo John Morris

Sail Canada’s Rolex Sailor of the Year award has been given out annually since 1986 to individual(s) who have provided global recognition to Canadian sailing and Sail Canada, and who are renowned leaders that have attained high levels of excellence with significant results and accomplishments in world events or activities. Along with recognition for exemplary sportsmanship, they have held the respect of their fellow sailors. Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, this year award is based on performances achieved between December 2, 2019 and August 6, 2021.

Amongst previous winners of Sail Canada’s Rolex Sailor of the Year award, Canada’s Olympic and Paralympic medalists Evert Bastet (2007), Terry McLaughlin (2001 and 2013), John McRoberts and Jackie Gay (2016), as well as Paul Tingley (2008) are all part of the prestigious list of winners, as is Ross MacDonald, who won it three times (1990, 1992 with Eric Jespersen and 2004 with Mike Wolfs).

More information is available on Sail Canada website at:

 Sarah and Maxim LamarreSarah Douglas with Rolex Canada CEO, Maxim Lamarre   Photo: Christian Bender/Sail Voile Canada

Related Articles

  • Sail NS Shares Community-Wide: Welcome to ROCKWOOL Canada SailGP

    Sail NS Shares Community-Wide: Welcome to ROCKWOOL Canada SailGP

    May 15, 2024 With a racecourse that is visible from both sides of the harbour, Halifax offers one of the best race stadiums on the SailGP circuit. “Spectators will be able to watch the fleet of ten hydro foiling catamarans from vantage points along the Dartmouth and Halifax waterfronts, as well as from the water,”… Read More…

  • Armdale YC Welcomes Atlantea Expedition

    Armdale YC Welcomes Atlantea Expedition

    May 15, 2024 By Nicola MacNevin There’s still a chill in the Nova Scotia spring air, even on the sunniest of days, and the ocean hasn’t yet shed its winter slate grey. Venturing from Bermuda to Halifax at this time of year is daunting. For the crew of Carlina the challenge of an ocean passage… Read More…