Sail Canada: Meet the Teams

National Team

May 13, 2021

Earlier this month, Sail Canada announced the members of the 2021-2022 Canadian Sailing Team and Canadian Sailing Development Squad.

The 29 sailors were selected based on the Canadian Sailing Team Sport Canada Carding Criteria as well as on their overall performance during the 2019-2020 and 2020-21 seasons.

Carded members of both the Canadian Sailing Team and Canadian Sailing Development Squad receive financial support through the Sport Canada Athlete Assistance Program to help offset the costs related to their sport. Additionally, sailors receive tuition support for post-secondary education during their high-performance career or following retirement.

The Canadian Sailing team includes all the men and women who were nominated to the 2020 Canadian Olympic Team: Tom Ramshaw, Sarah Douglas, Ali ten Hove, Mariah Millen, Evan DePaul, Will Jones, Oliver Bone, Jacob Saunders and Nikola Girke.

Canadian Sailing Team and Nominated Olympic Team

Oliver Bone (Montréal, QC/RNSYS) – 470M

Evan DePaul (Burlington, ON/RHYC) – 49er

Sarah Douglas (Toronto, ON/ABYC) – Laser Radial

Nikola Girke (West Vancouver, B.C/RVYC) – RS:X W

William Jones (Jerseyville, ON/ RHYC) – 49er

Mariah Millen (Toronto, ON/RCYC) – 49erFX

Tom Ramshaw (Toronto, ON/SLYC & RCYC) – Finn

Jacob Saunders (Chester, N.S./CYC & RNSYS) – 470M

Ali ten Hove (Kingston, ON/KYC) – 49erFX

Canadian Sailing Team – Para sailing

Jackie Gay (Victoria, B.C./RVicYC) – 2.4mR

Scott Lutes (Montréal, QC/LYC/PCYC) – RS Venture Connect

John McRoberts (Victoria, B.C./RVicYC) – RS Venture Connect

Bruce Millar (Victoria, B.C./RVicYC) – 2.4mR

Canadian Sailing Development Squad

Ryan Anderson (Halifax, N.S./RNSYS) – Laser

Will Bonin (Toronto, ON/RCYC) – 49er

Samuel Bonin (Toronto, ON/RCYC) – 49er

Liam Bruce (Oakville, ON/PCYC) – Laser

Delani Hulme-Lawrence (Victoria, B.C./RVicYC) – 2.4mR

Maura Dewey (Victoria, B.C./RVicYC) – Laser Radial

Peter Eagar (Toronto, ON/NYC)– 2.4mR

Clara Gravely (Toronto, ON/ABYC) – Laser Radial

Fillah Karim (West Vancouver, B.C./RVYC) – Laser

Antonia Lewin-LaFrance (Chester, N.S./RNSYS) – 49erFX

Georgia Lewin-LaFrance (Chester, N.S./RNSYS) – 49erFX

Matti Muru (Etobicoke, ON/PCYC) – Laser

Luke Ruitenberg (St Margaret’s Bay, N.S./RNSYS) – Laser

Coralie Vittecoq (Montréal Ouest, QC/PCYC/BLBC) – Laser Radial

Andrew Wood (West Vancouver, B.C./RVYC) – 49er

Ryan Wood (West Vancouver, B.C./RVYC) – 49er

More information is available on Sail Canada website at

Related Articles

  • The Big Picture: Foiling Hard

    The Big Picture: Foiling Hard

    Nov 29, 2023 Canada SailGP Team helmed by Phil Robertson lead Emirates Great Britain SailGP Team helmed by Ben Ainslie on Race Day 1 of the Spain Sail Grand Prix in Cadiz, Spain. October 14th, 2023. Photo: Felix Diemer for SailGP. Image supplied by SailGP. Canada has been mixing it up on the course lately… Read More…

  • Sail Nova Scotia Evening of Excellence and Fundraising

    Sail Nova Scotia Evening of Excellence and Fundraising

    Nov 29, 2023 Bill Haliburton was the high bidder of the first four Premium tickets for the ROCKWOOL Canada Sail Grand Prix Halifax. He is flanked by Canada SailGP Team sailors Jareese Finch (L) and Billy Gooderham (R) – both now call Halifax home. The Nova Scotia sailing and boating community from across the province gathered Friday evening (November… Read More…